#YONCÉathon TBR

OMG, YONCÉathon begins today! My very own readathon is finally happening, and I am more than excited! For those who do not know, I created a Beyoncé-inspired readathon; Round 1 is based off of her full discography and is January 17th – February 17th! If you want to know more about each of the prompts, click here.

I decided to wait so soon to finally post my TBR because I am such a mood reader. For readathons with prompts, I usually give myself a few options that will fulfill the prompt. For some of the prompts, I have one choice for what I want to read to fulfill it, and for others, I’m going to see what I’m in the mood for. This article is basically half a TBR and half a Possibility Pile! I will say, however, that I am going to try and stick to this initial TBR throughout the month-long readathon, especially since a lot of these books are ones I’ve been wanting to get to for a while.

Dangerously In Love: Read an author’s debut.

Image result for woven in moonlight

I’m going with one of my January BOTM picks, which is Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibañez. This sells itself as a “lush tapestry of magic, romance, and revolución, drawing inspiration from Bolivian politics and history.” The book follows Ximena, who is a decoy for a royal and is seeking revenge on the people who destroyed her home and ran her people away. I’m a sucker for a rich fantasy world, especially one based off of a different culture and including magic!

B’Day: Read a book where romance is a central plot.

Image result for royal highness rachel hawkins

I’ve been eyeing Royal Highness by Rachel Hawkins for the past few days, so I’m going to follow my gut and this up. This is the second installment in the Royals series, but you don’t have to reading the first one Prince Charming to read this one. This follows a girl named Millie Quint who discovers of bff/girlfriend is kind of cheating on her. To escape this, she applies for and wins a scholarship to a boarding school in Scotland. It just so happens that her roommate is the literal princess of Scotland, and the two girls can’t stand one another. I’m looking forward to this because I’m always up for an enemies-to-lovers romance! This specifically intrigues me because I enjoyed Prince Charming, and it involves royalty and royal drama!

Image result for the last time i lied

I Am Sasha Fierce: Read a book with an unclear antagonist/villain.

I recently finished Final Girls by Riley Sager and absolutely loved it, so I decided that I’m going to continue on the Riley Sager train and read The Last Time I Lied. This is about a girl who returns to her summer camp fifteen years after some sort of tragedy happens. Back when our protagonist went to the camp, three of her camp friends vanished. I was quite impressed with how Riley Sager crafted Final Girls, especially because I thought I saw the big twist coming from a mile away, but it was even better and well-planned out than I initially thought. I have high hopes for The Last Time I Lied.

4: Read a book with exactly 4 words in the title.

I have two contenders for this one, and this will depend on my mood when I’m ready to go on to this prompt.

My first choice is The Good Luck Girls by Charlotte Nicole Davis, which is a Young Adult Historical Fantasy (doesn’t that just sound awesome?!). We follow a group of girls who were sold to a “welcome house” as children and branded with cursed markings. One of the girls accidentally murders a man, leading the girls to finally risk an escape to freedom in a country that wants them to have nothing. This description on Goodreads is kind of vague, but what intrigues me the most is that it seems kind of western-y, it involves a group of black girls (which can also work for another prompt, yay!), and it is a fantasy adventure that is also historical fiction. I have high hopes for this one!

Image result for tarnished are the stars

My second choice is Tarnished Are The Stars by Rosiee Thor. On Goodreads, it’s pitched as being The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook and is a queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. When I read just the first part about The Lunar Chronicles, I immediately purchased this book, and everything else in that description is an absolute bonus. This book is promising cyborgs, space, forbidden romance…what more can a fantasy-girl want?

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo book cover.jpeg

BEYONCÉ: Read a book about a character (or group of characters) going on a journey.

During #YONCÉathon, I am determined to finally finally read Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I have it sitting on my desk with full intentions of getting to it soon, and this readathon is going to be my time to shine. I read the Grisha Trilogy early last year and really enjoyed it, and since I’ve heard that the Six of Crows duology is even better, I’m stoked. Since I already know the world of the Grisha, I’m going into this book kind of blind; I know that there are people with certain magical abilities and there is sort of a caste system in this world. I also know that there is either a quest or a heist that takes place. And that’s it, and that’s all I want to know. If I’m running low on time, however, and me reading The Good Girls may also count for this prompt as well!

Lemonade: Read a book featuring strong female relationships (platonic, romantic, familial, etc.)

Image result for unlikely adventures of the shergill sisters

I’ll be reading The Unlikely Adventures of the Shergill Sisters by Balli Kaur Jaswal. I’ve read one of their previous works, Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows, and I thought it was phenomenal. This is a book about three sisters who were never close growing up and are even further apart as adult. But their mother is on her deathbed and her dying wish is that her daughters travel to India to perform her last rites. Upon arriving in India, the three sisters will make shocking discoveries about themselves, their mother, and their lives. I’m really looking forward to this, and if it’s anything like Erotic Stores for Punjabi Widows, it will feature tenuous female relationships that grow into something strong and fortified.

HOMECOMING: Read a book with yellow and/or pink on the cover.

Image result for all american muslim girl

I’ll be reading All-American Muslim Girl by Nadine Jolie Courtney, which is about Allie, a Muslim-American girl whose life is pretty quiet. She is currently dating Wells Henderson, who is super sweet but the son of a super-conservative, and the Hendersons don’t know Allie is Muslim, mostly because her family doesn’t actively practice the religion and taught Allie to keep her Islam to herself. When Allie sees mounting tensions and Islamophobia rise in her town and across the nation, she is moved to embrace her faith and all the joy and trouble that comes along with it.

Image result for a blade so black

The Lion King: The Gift: Read a modern retelling of a fairytale, folktale, or classic.

This one took a bit of thinking. My favorite fairytale is Beauty & The Beast, and I have quite a few retellings of this. I decided, however, that I wanted to read a book that’s been catching my eye for a few weeks, which is A Blade So Black by L.L. McKinney. This a retelling of Alice in Wonderland starring a black girl as our protagonist. From what I can gather, there are Nightmares that Alice must battle, while she also has to keep up appearances in her reality of Atlanta.

Everything Is Love: Read a book that is co-authored by two or more authors.

Image result for aurora rising

I really only have three options on my shelves to choose from, and since I’ve been in a fantasy/sci-fi mood, I’m leaning towards Aurora Rising by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. These two are the brilliant duo behind the Illuminae Files, which is a series I absolutely ADORED. From what I know, there is a group of misfit characters who must exceed everyone’s expectations of them. There’s a star pupil, a cocky diplomat, a sociopath scientist, a smart-ass techwiz, an alien warrior, and a tomboy pilot, PLUS the girl that’s just been rescued after she was in cryo-sleep for 200 hundred years. From the description alone, I’m expecting sass, shenanigans, and a whole lot of fun!

And that’s it for my TBR! Because I’m an overachiever, I have 9 books total (1 book for each prompt). It’s a-okay to double and triple up prompts, however, and I actually encourage it! If you can find a book that fulfills two or three of the prompts, go for it! This should go without saying, but try and read diversely if you usually don’t. Depending on who you are and what your reading preferences are, this will mean different things to different people. But most of all, have fun! Read some good books, listen to some Queen Bey, and enjoy yourself!

Let me know if the comments if you’ll be participating in #YONCÉathon and what you plan on reading during the month!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s