March New Releases On My Radar // #BookinItWithAhtiya

Spring is on the way and so are more new releases and even more gorgeous GORGEOUS covers! I’m excited about quite a few titles that are making their way into the world, so let’s dive into it!

My most anticipated release of March is Blood Scion by Deborah Falaye! A debut YA fantasy, Blood Scion is a Yoruba-Nigerian mythology inspired tale that follows a girl with forbidden powers tasked with freeing her people from oppression. The cover alone drew me in, and then the synopsis (found here) sealed the deal. It just so happens that Blood Scion is the featured book for Satisfiction’s March box. Satisfiction is a book subscription box that features Science Fiction and Fantasy novels by authors by colors paired with assorted self-care products. Satisfiction is a Black-woman owned small business based in the United States. I’m always incredibly excited to receive my Satisfiction box, both for the books and the high quality and perfectly curated self-care items. For 15% off your first box, use my code AHTIYA15. Make sure to follow them on Instagram (@satisfictionbox) for updates on book picks and products!

I’m a lover of categorizing information, so this list is organized by genre. Along with links to each book’s StoryGraph page, I’ve also given brief synopsis summaries.

SFF & Paranormal

Pilar Ramirez and the Escape from Zafar (03/01): Everything in Pilar’s life is changing, including her cousin who goes missing. When Pilar tries to find her by investigating a professor, she literally falls into the blank pages of a book and ends up in the land of Zafar, a mythical land full of wonder and a magical prison where her cousin is being held prisoner.

The Lost Dreamer (03/01): A Mesoamerica-inspired fantasy that follows a family of seers who are trying to resist against a patriarchal state. Our main character Indir is a Dreamer, with the rare gift of Dreaming truth. The new king is set on destroying the ancient tradition of the Dreamers, and Indir must choose between saving her home by aiding in her people’s decimation or fighting to survive.

Blood Scion (03/08): Fifteen-year-old Sloane can incinerate an enemy at will—she is a Scion, a descendant of the ancient Orisha gods. Under the Lucis’ brutal rule, her identity means her death if her powers are discovered. But when she is forcibly conscripted into the Lucis army on her fifteenth birthday, Sloane sees a new opportunity: to overcome the bloody challenges of Lucis training, and destroy them from within.

The Way Spring Arrives and Other Stories (03/08): In The Way Spring Arrives and Other Stories, you can dine at a restaurant at the end of the universe, cultivate to immortality in the high mountains, watch roses perform Shakespeare, or arrive at the island of the gods on the backs of giant fish to ensure that the world can bloom. Written, edited, and translated by a female and nonbinary team, these stories have never before been published in English and represent both the richly complicated past and the vivid future of Chinese science fiction and fantasy.

Lead Me Astray (03/15): Welcome to Overlay City in New Orleans—a shadowy in-between where the paranormal and the real world meet. Its newest resident: Aurie Edison. A victim of a hit-and-run, Aurie now exists as a ghost in this mysterious realm. Convinced there is more to her death than what she remembers, Aurie sets out to uncover the truth.

When We Were Birds (03/15): A mythic love story set in Trinidad & Tobago, Ayanna Lloyd Banwo’s radiant debut introduces two unforgettable outsiders brought together by their connection with the dead. Yejide and Darwin will meet inside the gates of Fidelis, Port Angeles’ largest and oldest cemetery, where the dead lie uneasy in their graves and a reckoning with fate beckons them both. A masterwork of lush imagination and immersive lyricism, When We Were Birds is a spellbinding novel about inheritance, loss and love’s seismic power to heal.

Survive the Dome (03/29): The Hate U Give meets Internment in this pulse-pounding thriller about an impenetrable dome around Baltimore that is keeping the residents in and information from going out during a city-wide protest. As unrest inside of Baltimore grows throughout the days-long lockdown, Marco, Catherine, and Jamal take the fight directly to the chief of police. But the city is corrupt from the inside out, and it’s going to take everything they have to survive.

Contemporary:

The Rumor Game (03/01): At Foxham Prep, a posh private school for the children of DC’s elite, a single rumor has the power to ruin a life. As the rumors grow and morph, blazing like wildfire through the school’s social media, three girls’ lives begin to unravel. But one person close to the drama has the power to stop the gossip in its tracks. The question is—do they even want to?

Disorientation (03/22): For readers of Paul Beatty’s The Sellout and Charles Yu’s Interior Chinatown, this uproarious and bighearted satire is a blistering send-up of privilege and power in America, and a profound reckoning of individual complicity and unspoken rage. In this electrifying debut novel from a provocative new voice, Elaine Hsieh Chou asks who gets to tell our stories—and how the story changes when we finally tell it ourselves.

Romance:

Dating Dr. Dil (03/15): Kareena Mann dreams of having a love story like her parents, but she prefers restoring her classic car to swiping right on dating apps. When her father announces he’s selling her mother’s home, Kareena makes a deal with him: he’ll gift her the house if she can get engaged in four months. Dr. Prem Verma is dedicated to building a local community health center, but he needs to get donors with deep pockets. That’s when Kareena’s meddling aunties presented him with a solution: convince Kareena he’s her soulmate and they’ll fund his clinic.

Right Where I Left You (03/15): School’s out, senior year is over, and Isaac Martin is ready to kick off summer. His last before heading off to college in the fall where he won’t have his best friend, Diego. Where—despite his social anxiety—he’ll be left to make friends on his own. Knowing his time with Diego is limited, Isaac enacts a foolproof plan: snatch up a pair of badges for the epic comic convention, Legends Con, and attend his first ever Teen Pride. After a miscommunication, Diego and Isaac’s friendship lands on thin ice. Isaac assumes he’s upset about missing the convention, but could Diego have other reasons for avoiding Isaac?

Savvy Sheldon Feels Good As Hell (03/22): Starting from the outside in, Savvy tackles her crumbling kitchen, her relationship with her body, her work-life balance (or lack thereof) and, last but not least, her love life. The only thing that doesn’t seem to require effort is her ride-or-die squad of friends. But as any home-reno-show junkie can tell you, something always falls apart during renovations. A delicious debut rom-com about a plus-size sweetheart who gets a full-life makeover after a brutal breakup–with the help of an irresistible cast of friends and family, a kitchen reno and a devastatingly handsome contractor.

Historical:

Memphis (03/01): A spellbinding debut novel tracing three generations of a Southern Black family and one daughter’s discovery that she has the power to change her family’s legacy. Unfolding over seventy years through a chorus of unforgettable voices that move back and forth in time, Memphis paints an indelible portrait of inheritance, celebrating the full complexity of what we pass down, in a family and as a country: brutality and justice, faith and forgiveness, sacrifice and love.

What March new releases are you looking forward to? Leave a comment and remember to use my code AHTIYA15 for 15% off your first box from Satisfiction!

I’m selling merchandise now, so make sure to check out my storefront!

If you’re not already following me on Instagram (@BookinItWithAhtiya) make sure to do that because I post daily content over there, and make sure you put your email address in so that you’re notified whenever I upload a new blog post! You can follow me on StoryGraph to see what I’m reading, loving, and hoping to read very soon.

I am also selling TONS of books via PangoBooks (click here to view my storefront). Most books are in excellent or like-new condition and are reasonably priced. Use my code AHTIYA5 to receive $5 off your first purchase!

I am a Bookshop.com Affiliate, so if you want to support me and independent bookstores, feel free to use my link to purchase your copy of any of the books on this list! If you’re more of an audiobook person, you can use my link when you start your Libro.FM membership!

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s